California Paid Sick Leave LawDid You Know That in July the Sick Leave Law Changed?

The new California Paid Sick Leave laws have been in force for two months, so now is a good time to make sure that you and employees are aware of the new policies. As part of the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act, the new law increases the flexibility of paid sick days.

Same Employer Standard
An employee who works in California for 30 or more days within a year from the origination of employment is entitled to paid sick days, as long as the employee works for at least 30 days within the previous 12 months with the same employer.

Limiting Sick Day Use
Employers may limit an employee’s use of paid sick days to 24 hours or 3 days in (1) each year of employment, (2) calendar year, or (3) 12-month period. 

Accrual Processes
Under the amended law, employers may provide for employee sick leave on a basis other than one hour for each 30 hours worked, provided that the accrual is on a regular basis and the employee will have 24 hours of accrued sick leave available by the 120th calendar day of employment.

Pay Rates When Sick
Under the amended law, employers are required to calculate paid sick leave for non-exempt employees based upon the employees’: (1) regular rate of pay for the week in which the employee uses sick leave, or (2) total wages, excluding overtime premiums, divided by total hours worked in the full pay periods of the prior 90 days of employment.

An an employee, it is a good time to review your new conditions and, to further protect you, update your health insurance policy. Businesses can also update their insurance so that both the business and employees are protected in the event of an accident. For quality insurance in Arcadia, California, contact Weaver & Associates Inc. to update your health and business insurance!